Today's post is brought to you by my dehydrator. For me, my dehydrator is an important part of meeting my food goals. Why home dehydrate?
  • enables storage of fruits, vegetables, and herbs
  • maintains a good proportion of nutrients
  • control over additives and cross contamination (palm and/or cottonseed oil? potassium sorbate? sulphites? dextrose? no thank you!)
  • it's delicious
  • makes great snacks, especially on the go
  • wonderful way to spend time with children
  • quick method of storage
  • useful in preparing raw vegan foods
  • greater variety than commercially dehydrated options
I cut my pineapple about half a centimeter thick and dehydrate at 104 degrees fahrenheit until leathery and getting crisp. I like to dry mine quite ripe. I blend the pineapple cores with one banana and a tablespoon of coconut manna (shredded coconut works too but the end product won't be as smooth) with trace water for a refreshing piña colada smoothie.

A note on certain terms used in the context of this site: I do not consume gluten or corn because of intolerances I have. I do not advise the extent to which they should or should not be consumed by others as this should be a personal and prayerful decision, and the answer is not universal. I do feel that there are many people who eat gluten and corn without realizing they are being implicated by intolerances. If you have never considered whether it is possible for you to be intolerant, I would encourage you to spend some time researching and praying. I am not recommending any particular resource as I am yet to find one that I feel is completely worthy. I think there is truth in some of the information about gluten, but it needs to be discerned prayerfully. I also label some foods on this site as vegan, raw vegan, and paleo. This is predominantly for the benefit of those who are looking to follow these diets. I find that many of my dietary choices fall into these categories, but do not want to suggest that these diets are purely inspired.



Leave a Reply.